CONTACT US   |   Print Page   |   Sign In   |   join.
Our Committees

ABAG Committees are standing working committees of the Board of Directors, each with specific responsibilities that support implementation of our strategic plan and ongoing operations.

Depending on the charge of the committee, membership may be open to non-Board members as well. Below are ABAG's working committees, including the executive committee. Assigned ABAG staff supports each committee.

Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Responsible for reviewing and overseeing implementation of ABAG’s Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Policy and providing guidance for ABAG activities to further racial equity, diversity and inclusion in philanthropy in Central Maryland. The Committee will meet a minimum of three times per year.
Co-Chairs: Tracey Barbour-Gillett, The Abell Foundation and Michael Arnst, The Blaustein Philanthropic Group

Executive Committee
Responsible for leadership of the board of directors and overall governance of ABAG. Members of the Executive Committee are the Chair, Vice Chair, Treasurer, Secretary, and Chairs of the Nominating, Program and Member Services Committee. Members of the Executive Committee may be asked to join discussions of the Management and Finance Committee and will meet independently as needed.
Chair: Timothy O’Neill, William J. and Dorothy K. O’Neill Foundation

Leadership Development/Nominating Committee
Responsible for developing opportunities to build future board leaders from among ABAG's members and for annually nominating directors and officers for the board. The committee meets two times per year.
Chair: Pamela King, Open Society Institute-Baltimore 

Management and Finance Committee
Responsible for developing and monitoring ABAG's annual budget and for advising on financial and administrative policies and practices. This committee also oversees maintaining ABAG's Standards of Excellence Accreditation and monitoring progress on the strategic plan. This committee meets four times per year.
Chair: Cathy Brill, Leonard & Helen R. Stulman Charitable Foundation

Member Services Committee
Responsible for identifying and recruiting new members and developing strategies for retaining existing members. Members are asked to take on limited individual recruitment assignments. The committee oversees surveys of member needs and designs activities to support on-going member involvement (e.g., mentoring for new members, peer to peer networking). This committee meets three/four times per year.
Chair: Brooke Hodges

Program Committee
Responsible for identifying the educational needs of ABAG members and designing and implementing programs to meet those needs. The committee supports a varied menu of over 100 activities each program year, which address the broad cross-section of topics and issues that are of interest and concern to grantmakers. The Member Services Committee partners with the Program Committee to expand and strengthen its member relations. The committee meets three times per year. 
Chair: Vacant

Public Policy Committee
The Committee seeks to advise the Board on ABAG’s leadership in public policy issues and efforts to bring ideas and insights of members to local, state, and national public policy discussions. The Committee meets four times per year. 
ABAG Staff: Vic Valentine, Director of Engagement and Policy, ABAG

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal